VARA (Dubai): tokenization regime, cost and constraints
Virtual asset activities, including asset-referenced virtual assets. Regulated by VARA.
Last verified 22 July 2026
VARA governs virtual-asset activity in Dubai outside the DIFC, and it moved early on asset-referenced virtual assets, licensing its first ARVA issuer in 2025. For real-estate-linked tokens with a Dubai nexus this is the relevant perimeter, and the Dubai Land Department's own tokenisation work has made it the most visible one.
It is also where the published cost evidence is least trustworthy. Three sources give three incompatible pictures of year-one cost, and the highest of them is roughly an order of magnitude above the official fee schedule — most likely because it folds paid-up capital into "cost" without saying so. VARA has itself publicly warned about firms falsely claiming to take part in its real-estate pilot. Check the licence reference against the regulator's register before relying on anyone's claim, including a claim about cost.
At a glance
| Legal perimeter | Dubai, outside DIFC |
|---|---|
| Regulator | VARA |
| Governing law | VARA rulebooks; ARVA category |
| Vehicle / instrument | Virtual assets, including ARVA |
| What is licensed | Virtual asset activities, including asset-referenced virtual assets |
| Investor geography | Dubai-linked virtual-asset investors |
| Distribution effect | Covers the VARA perimeter in Dubai; distribution elsewhere analysed separately |
| Binding constraint | Published fee figures conflict across sources by an order of magnitude — see /cost/ |
| Indicative timeline | Variable; depends on the activity category applied for |
| Last verified | 2026-07-22 |
The timeline reflects what the published record and practice suggest. It is not a processing time any regulator commits to.
Fits when — and what it does not solve
Fits when: A real-estate-linked virtual asset with a Dubai nexus, outside the DIFC.
What this regime does not solve:
- Activity inside the DIFC, which is a different perimeter
- Distribution into investor jurisdictions elsewhere
- Cost certainty — published year-one figures conflict by an order of magnitude
Published cost evidence
9 published figures in our dataset are attributed to this jurisdiction. Each carries its own source, currency, cadence and date. Most public pricing in this market comes from providers selling the service they are pricing — the "Sells this?" column says which. Nothing here is averaged.
| Provider | Component | Range | Cadence | Source date | Sells this? | As published | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cryptoverse Lawyers | licence govt fee | AED 40,000 | one_time | not stated | yes | AED 40,000 application fee AED 80,000 annual supervision fee | view |
| Cryptoverse Lawyers | licence govt fee | AED 100,000 | one_time | not stated | yes | AED 100,000 application fee AED 200,000 annual supervision fee | view |
| Cryptoverse Lawyers | ongoing compliance | AED 80,000–AED 200,000 | annual | not stated | yes | annual supervision fee AED 80,000-200,000 | view |
| Consulting24 | licence application | $10,000–$30,000 | one_time | 2026-06-13 | yes | VARA application fee 10,000-30,000 | view |
| Consulting24 | licence govt fee | $50,000–$150,000 | one_time | 2026-06-13 | yes | Category license fee 50,000-150,000 | view |
| Consulting24 | legal structuring | $30,000–$100,000 | one_time | 2026-06-13 | yes | Advisory & legal fees 30,000-100,000 | view |
| Consulting24 | TOTAL | $100,000–$330,000 | one_time | 2026-06-13 | yes | Total range 100,000-330,000 | view |
| Consulting24 | ongoing compliance | $50,000 | annual | 2026-06-13 | yes | Ongoing compliance typically costs USD 50,000+ per year | view |
| OmiSoft | licence application | AED 2,100,000 | one_time | 2026-07-03 | yes | UAE Dubai VARA AED 2.1 million ~$570,000 first-year | view |
Read these as evidence of what is claimed, not as a quote. See the full cost index for how components are normalised and where sources contradict each other, and how to make quotes comparable before you ask anyone for a price.
What changed recently
VARA issued its asset-referenced virtual asset (ARVA) rules in May 2025 and in June 2025 granted the first licence permitting issuer services. It has separately warned that firms have falsely claimed to be part of the Dubai Land Department real-estate tokenisation pilot.
Closest comparison
- See this regime beside the other 9 in the comparison matrix.
- Three UAE perimeters compared: ADGM vs DIFC vs VARA.
- Choosing between Gulf and Asian distribution? Read Gulf vs Asia fund distribution.
Sources and review
- https://www.vara.ae/en/
- https://www.vara.ae/en/regulations/regulatory-notices/vara-consumer-and-marketplace-alert-misrepresentation-of-participation-in-the-dld-real-estate-tokenisation-project/
Last verified 22 July 2026 by the RWA Legal Index research desk. Reference material, not legal advice. A regime that changed after that date may no longer match what is above — verify against the regulator's own material, and check any claimed licence against the official register. Collection rules and our commercial relationships are on the methodology page; errors go to corrections.
Get this narrowed to your case
Send the asset class, investor geography and expected distribution route. We will return a short list of regimes with the constraint and official source behind each option — options with constraints, not a recommendation.